2023 2024 School Year Calendar NYC DOE public schools

This is the 2023- 24-school-year calendar for all 3K–12 NYC DOE public schools. If your child attends a private, parochial, charter school, NYC Early Education Center (NYCEEC) or Family Childcare Program, please get in touch with your child’s school for information about their calendar. 2023 2024 School Year Calendar NYC DOE Public Schools

Please note the following:

Ad
Empower Your Business with Bespoke Strategies: New Course Equips Professionals with Expertise
  • On days when school buildings are closed due to inclement weather or other emergencies, all students and families should plan on participating in remote learning.
  • Individual schools’ Parent-Teacher Conference dates might be different from the dates below. Your child’s teacher will work with you to schedule your conference.
  • On this schedule, elementary schools are defined as programs that serve kindergarten (K) through grade 8, including schools with 3-K and Pre-K programs and those that end in grade 5. Middle schools are defined as programs that serve grades 6–8, and high schools are defined as programs that serve grades 9–12.

The 2022-23 school year calendar is still available on the 2022-23 school year calendar page.

Translations

Important Dates

Date Weekday Event
September 7 Thursday First day of school
September 14 Thursday Evening Parent-Teacher Conferences for elementary schools and Pre-K Centers
September 21 Thursday Evening Parent-Teacher Conferences for middle schools and D75 schools
September 25 Monday Yom Kippur, schools closed
September 28 Thursday Evening Parent-Teacher Conferences for high schools, K–12, and 6–12 schools
October 9 Monday Italian Heritage / Indigenous Peoples’ Day, schools closed
November 2 Thursday Afternoon and Evening Parent-Teacher Conferences for elementary schools; students in these schools dismissed three hours early.
November 7 Tuesday Election Day, students do not attend school
November 9 Thursday Afternoon and Evening Parent-Teacher Conferences for middle schools and D75 schools; students in these schools dismissed three hours early.
November 16 Thursday Afternoon and evening Parent-Teacher Conferences for high schools, K–12, and 6–12 schools
November 17 Friday Afternoon Parent-Teacher Conferences for high schools, K–12, and 6–12 schools; students in these schools dismissed three hours early.
November 23–24 Thursday– Friday Thanksgiving Recess, schools closed
December 25–January 1 Monday– Monday Winter Recess, schools closed
January 15 Monday Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day, schools closed
January 23–26 Tuesday– Friday Regents Administration
January 29 Monday Professional Development Day; no classes for students attending high schools and 6-12 schools, all other students attend school
January 30 Tuesday Spring Semester begins
February 19–
23
Monday– Friday Midwinter Recess, schools closed
March 7 Thursday Afternoon and Evening Parent-Teacher Conferences for elementary schools and Pre-K Centers; students in these schools dismissed three hours early.
March 14 Thursday Afternoon and Evening Parent-Teacher Conferences for middle schools and D75 schools; students in these schools dismissed three hours early.
March 21 Thursday Evening Parent-Teacher Conferences for high schools, K–12, and 6–12 schools
March 22 Friday Afternoon Parent-Teacher Conferences for high schools, K–12, and 6–12 schools; students in these schools dismissed three hours early.
March 29–April 1 Friday–Monday Easter Weekend, schools closed
April 10 Wednesday Eid al-Fitr, schools closed
April 22–30 Monday– Tuesday Spring Recess, schools closed
May 9 Thursday Evening Parent-Teacher Conferences for elementary schools and Pre-K Centers
May 16 Thursday Evening Parent-Teacher Conferences for middle schools and D75 schools
May 23 Thursday Evening Parent-Teacher Conferences for high schools, K–12, and 6–12 schools
May 27 Monday Memorial Day, schools closed
June 6 Thursday Anniversary Day / Chancellor’s Conference Day for staff development; students do not attend.
June 7 Friday Clerical Day; no classes for students attending 3K, Pre-K, elementary schools, middle schools, K-12 schools, and standalone D75 programs
June 14–26 Friday– Wednesday Regents Administration (excluding June 19, when schools are closed)
June 17 Monday Eid al-Adha, schools closed
June 19 Wednesday Juneteenth, schools closed
June 26 Wednesday Last day of school for students
0 Shares
Tweet
Share
Pin
Share